Board of Ethics

Board of Ethics

The Town Board established the Board of Ethics pursuant to General Municipal Law and Town Code. The Board of Ethics renders advisory opinions to officers, employees and appointees of the Town of North Castle in accordance with the guidelines set forth in the Town’s Code of Ethics. Officers and employees of the Town, whether elected or appointed, paid or unpaid, including members of administrative boards, are required to be impartial and free from conflicts of interest in fulfilling their public responsibilities. The Code of Ethics states standards of conduct necessary to assure this.

Ethics Task Force
On September 23, 2104, the Ethics Task Force was established by the Town Board, comprised of up to eight members, to study the Code of Ethics and to provide recommendations to the Town Board.
On February 11, 2015, the Town Board appointed Susan Shimer, John Diaconis, Jeffrey Glat and Rick Alimonti to serve on the Ethics Task Force, at the pleasure of the Town Board, in conjuction with the current Board of Ethics members listed below.
On March 11, 2015, the Town Board appointed David Simonds and John Diaconis as Co-Chairs of the Ethics Task Force to serve at the pleasure of the Town Board.

Click Here to Email Us

Board Members

Name Title
David Simonds Chairman; Member - 11/1/2021
John Klem Member - 11/1/2018
Edward Lobermann Member - 11/1/2019
Susan Shimer Member - 11/1/2017
Brett Summers Secretary; Member - 11/1/2020
Rabbi Stacy Bergman Alternate Member
Ex Officio - Town Counsel
Town Board Liaison: Councilman D'Angelo