Planning Board


In the Town of North Castle, the Planning Board is responsible for the review and approval of all applications concerning site plans, subdivisions and lot line changes; some applications concerning special use permits, wetlands permits and tree removal permits; and the environmental review of those applications over which it has jurisdiction.  The Planning Board may also have an advisory role in connection with some applications before the Town Board, such as those involving other categories of special use permits and zoning amendments.

The Planning Board is composed of five volunteer members – all residents of North Castle – who are appointed by the Town Board for five-year terms.  As part of the review of some applications, the Planning Board is assisted on an as-needed basis by other lay boards of the Town, such as the Conservation Board (CB), the Zoning Board of Appeals (ZBA), the Open Space Committee and the Architectural Review Board (ARB).  As part of the review of most applications, the Planning Board is also assisted by the Director of Planning, the Town Engineer, the Town Attorney and other special consultants when required.

Planning Board meetings are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month, except as noted, beginning at 7:00 pm. Meetings are held at the North Castle Town Hall Meeting Room except when they must be relocated due to scheduling conflicts. All meetings are open to the public and are broadcast live on NCTV and on the Town website.

Members serve a 5 year term.

Televised Meetings

North Castle Planning Board meetings are rebroadcast on NCTV Cablevision Channel 18 and Verizon Channel 39 in Armonk & Banksville on Tuesdays at 7:00 pm & Saturdays at 12:00 noon.

In North White Plains, Planning Board meetings are rebroadcast on Cablevision Channel 75 and Verizon Channel 39 on Tuesdays at 7:00 pm & Saturdays at 12:00 noon.

Email Us.

Board Members

Christopher Carthy

Chairman; Member


Steven Sauro



Michael Pollack



James Jensen



Gideon Hirschmann



Town Board Liaison: Councilman DiGiacinto